Skip to main content
Pattern Beauty

Bounce Back Pre-Poo

Mask / Moisture treatment, rich

  • Mask / treatment
  • moisture
  • Sulfate-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Cruelty-free · PETA-listed
Size10 fl oz
Priceabout $25commonly seen · 10 oz
Price / oz$2.50/ozat 10 oz

Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.

Scent:

No added fragrance, no scenting essential oils, and no declared fragrance allergens on the list.

Manufacturer page: patternbeauty.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.

  • About 20 minutes, and your answers save as you go.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 22 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine built around your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates

$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.

Start your consultation

Priced with its peers

$2.50/oz at 10 oz, less than 64% of the 576 masks and treatments , which mostly run $1.80–5.62/oz. The cost less.

Price and stores

Great for

no fragrance (parfum) on the label
free of strong smells
Protein-hungry hairthat stretches and stays stretched when wet
Dry, thirsty hairhumectants and emollients both sit up front
Curly-method routinesno sulfates and no water-insoluble silicones
Coarse or dry hairthat absorbs everything you give it

Maybe skip if

Protein-sensitive hairthat goes stiff or straw-like on protein
Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
Stretching wash dayswaxes stay until a detergent wash removes them
If scent matters to younothing is added here
Picking it up locallywe’ve only seen it sold in one channel

Whether your hair needs moisture, protein or bond repair right now depends on its damage history and how it behaves wet. The consultation finds out which.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo: Conditioning the lengths
Start on
dry hair
Where
lengths, roots
Label wait
10–15 minutes
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Conditioner after
the label recommends conditioning after
How often
not stated on the label
  1. Apply evenly from root to tip on dry hair.
  2. Allow to sit 10–15 minutes or until curl reversion is complete.
  3. Rinse with cool water.
  4. Follow with shampoo (the label names PATTERN Hydration Shampoo) and a conditioner of your choice.

Browse technique guides (general advice, not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: brand page · checked 2026-09-16

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Oils and butters Rich

Butters near the top: a heavy, softening formula.

Weight on the hair Rich

Heavy butters and waxes in the first eight ingredients.

Protein Prominent

Protein high in the list: a strengthening formula, not a moisture one.

Water-binding (humectants) Moderate

Humectants in the working part of the formula.

Slip and detangling Some

Some slip, mostly from esters or silicones rather than conditioners.

Time on the hair 10–15 min

Long enough that it is a planned step, not a shower add-on.

Needs detergent to remove Yes

Water-insoluble silicones or waxes: a detergent wash is what removes them.

Fragrance None listed

No fragrance is listed.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
WaterWater/Aqua/Eau solvent The base everything else is dissolved in Neutral
Murumuru Seed Butter butter The richness a deep treatment is built on Heavy
Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel ExtractOat Extract botanical extract A plant extract, there as much for marketing as for function Neutral
Hibiscus Sabdariffa Flower ExtractHibiscus Flower Extract botanical extract A plant extract, there as much for marketing as for function Neutral
Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed OilJojoba Oil emollient Softens and smooths the strand Buildup
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein film former Lays down the film that holds a shape Protein
Panthenol humectant Pulls water into the hair Detangles
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesNo sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. Protein-forward: a strengthening formula, not a moisture one. Contains heavier butters.
Full ingredient list (7)

In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.

  • 1 Water · Water/Aqua/Eau
    General function

    The base of almost every rinse-off and cream hair product. It carries everything else and is normally the first ingredient on the label.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    • solvent
  • 2 Murumuru Seed Butter
    General function

    A very rich Amazonian butter used for sealing coarse and coily hair.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coarse, porous hair loses water quickly and can carry the weight; a butter slows that loss more than a thin oil does.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.

    May suitVery dry or highly damaged hair

    A solid fat melts onto the strand at body temperature and stays there, which is the heaviest surface moisture-holding a formula can offer.

    • butter
    • emollient
    • sealant
  • 3 Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract · Oat Extract
    General function

    Oat extract, used for a soothing claim on irritated scalps.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    • botanical extract
  • 4 Hibiscus Sabdariffa Flower Extract · Hibiscus Flower Extract
    General function

    Hibiscus extract, used at low levels in curl products for slip and label appeal.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    • botanical extract
  • 5 Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil · Jojoba Oil
    General function

    Not chemically an oil: about 97% of it is liquid wax esters, which is why it resists going rancid and sits close to the scalp's own sebum. It smooths without a heavy finish.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May suitMaximum-hold styling

    A wax holds by staying solid on the strand, which gives grip and separation rather than a set film that cracks.

    • emollient
    • light ester
    • oil
    • wax
  • 6 Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
    General function

    A general plant protein blend used for strength and body; the silanetriol form binds more firmly.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Filling surface gaps evens out the cuticle, which is part of what makes damaged hair comb and reflect light more like undamaged hair.

    May suitMaximum-hold styling

    Film formers are what hold a style: they dry into a connected film across the strands so the shape resists movement.

    May suitVery dry or highly damaged hair

    Hydrolysed fragments are small enough to sit in the gaps of a worn cuticle for a wash or two, temporarily restoring stiffness and cutting breakage in combing.

    • film former
    • protein
    • hydrolysed protein
  • 7 Panthenol
    General function

    Provitamin B5. It draws in water and penetrates the strand a little, which is why it is the standard ingredient for softness and shine claims.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitFine or easily flattened hair

    It hydrates without adding oil or a film, which is the combination fine hair usually needs.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Deposits a lubricating layer that makes combing easier, which is most of what stops mechanical damage adding to frizz.

    May suitVery dry or highly damaged hair

    A humectant that also penetrates the cuticle, so it holds water inside the strand rather than only on the surface.

    PubChem
    • humectant
    • conditioning agent
    • vitamin

What the whole list adds up to

  • 2 emollients
  • 2 botanical extracts
  • 1 solvent
  • 1 butter
  • 1 sealant
  • 1 light ester
  • 1 oil
  • 1 wax
  • 1 film former
  • 1 protein
  • 1 hydrolysed protein
  • 1 humectant
  • 1 conditioning agent
  • 1 vitamin

Ingredient list captured 2026-08-24. Formulas change, so check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 10 oz

Commonly seen about $25 Midpoint $25 · 3 stores · checked Aug 30
Good value under $14 Under $1.37/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 7 products we score as doing the same job

Priced above the products that do the same job. Stores sell it above the $14 line; products that do this job typically go for about $27 at this size.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it4 listings · 4 stores

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.

How we work this out
  1. 10 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Commonly seen is the middle half of current prices for the 10 oz at recognised stores. We leave out the cheapest and most expensive quarters, so one sale or one overpriced listing can’t move it.
  3. Good value under $14 comes from the 7 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $1.37/oz; at 10 oz that is $14. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. About $27 is what those same products typically cost at this size: the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 10 oz.

Formula

Formula score
8 of 10

The formula carries the systems a treatment is built around, and it sits in the middle of the range for masks and treatments per ounce.

How the score is counted
  • 1 products we score as doing the same job cost less per ounce
  • Costs less per ounce than 64% of the 576 masks and treatments we’ve priced
  • Covers 5 of the 6 things a treatment should do
  • Reviewers mention 3 things they like about how it performs
  • Rich emollientsThe depth a treatment step is built around.3 pts
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.2 pts
  • Protein or amino acidsThe strengthening side of a treatment.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A stated dwell timeThe brand says how long to leave it on.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job, for less

Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.

SheaMoistureLowest cost per oz Manuka Honey & Yogurt Hydrate + Repair Protein Strong Treatment Masque $1.56/oz $0.94/oz less
  • Fragrance-free
  • Unscented
  • Protein
· Close function
Function
  • Film formers
Also
  • Drugstore tier
  • 8 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These products do a similar job. We haven’t matched them to you. Find the one that fits your hair, routine and budget

Built for curly to coily hair

Final decision

Should you buy it?

A solid pick for the hair it suits
Best user

People sensitive to fragrance who want a formula with no added fragrance and a product with no scent

Biggest tradeoff

Less suited to hair that stiffens on protein, oily scalps and fine hair, or anyone stretching time between washes

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, and what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.

0
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
3
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
0
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
Heat-Style Approved

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

—

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

Promotes elasticity

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

—

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

Revitalizes curls after heat styling or protective styles

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

—

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Themes that come up again and again in sourced reviews, written by our researchers in their own words. We don’t store or scrape star ratings.

Restores bounce and elasticity to curls after heat styling

curly-hair customers using after heat styling

Leaves hair soft and hydrated rather than dried out during pre-wash prep

general reviewers

Provides slip that eases detangling without added dryness

general reviewers

More from Pattern Beauty

How this page was made

  • Everything above comes from our researched product record: identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated prices and review themes our researchers wrote in their own words. No part of this page is written by hand for one product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 3 sources consulted for this product (3 manufacturer or regulatory, 0 retailer, 0 editorial), last checked 2026-08-25.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 1 of 4 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are general formulation guidance. They aren’t a verdict on the finished product or on you.
  • We haven’t tested this product in a lab, and we don’t physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list. Claims about how it behaves are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are what we saw on the dates shown and can change.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v23. Record last updated 2026-08-25.

Hair Care Consultation

A care plan made for your hair and goals, then follow-up questions and plan updates.

  • Answers to your hair concerns
  • Formula-based product picks
  • Routines for your lifestyle and preferences
  • Updates for weather, needs and goals

$49with 60 days of follow-ups

Start my consultation