Skip to main content
OGX

Mirror Shine + Argan Oil Smoothing Pre-Wash Hair Gloss

Mask / Deep treatment, oil-rich

  • Mask / treatment
  • oil
  • Sulfate-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Protein-free
  • Vegan · label states
  • Not cruelty-free · PETA-listed
Size4 fl oz
Price$8–10 Good valuecommonly seen · 4 oz
Price / oz$2.50/ozat 4 oz

Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.

Scent:

The ingredient list declares fragrance. What it smells of is not stated, and we do not guess.

Manufacturer page: ogxbeauty.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.

  • About 20 minutes, and your answers save as you go.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 20 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine built around your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates

$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.

Start your consultation

Priced with its peers

$2.50/oz at 4 oz, less than 65% of the 576 masks and treatments , which mostly run $1.80–5.62/oz.

Price and stores

Great for

Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
Curly-method routinesno sulfates and no water-insoluble silicones
Coarse or dry hairthat absorbs everything you give it
Silicone-free routinesno silicones appear in the list
Very dry hairno fast-drying alcohol in the list
Short ingredient listsfifteen ingredients or fewer

Maybe skip if

this product has a scent
Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
Hair that needs proteinthere is none in this list
Hair that tangles wetnothing here makes combing easier
Very dry hairno humectant appears in the list
Vegan and cruelty-freeour record does not support both claims here

Whether your hair needs moisture, protein or bond repair right now depends on its damage history and how it behaves wet. The consultation finds out which.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo: Conditioning the lengths
Start on
dry hair
Where
lengths, ends
Label wait
at least 5 minutes (longer allowed)
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Conditioner after
the label recommends conditioning after
How often
not stated on the label
  1. Apply generously to dry hair from shaft to ends.
  2. Let sit for 5 minutes then rinse hair thoroughly.
  3. then rinse hair thoroughly.
  4. Follow with your favorite OGX shampoo and conditioner.

Browse technique guides (general advice, not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: retailer page · checked 2026-09-17

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Oils and butters Present, high in the list

Oils sit high in the list: a softening, coating formula.

Weight on the hair Rich

Heavy butters and waxes in the first eight ingredients.

Protein None

No protein or amino acids in the list.

Water-binding (humectants) None found

No humectants, so nothing here pulls water into the hair.

Slip and detangling Some

Some slip, mostly from esters or silicones rather than conditioners.

Needs detergent to remove No

Nothing here needs a detergent wash to remove.

Fragrance Prominent

Fragrance is in the first eight ingredients, so it makes up a larger share of the formula.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
Isopropyl Palmitate light ester Light slip without much weight Softens
Coco-Caprylate/Caprate light ester Light slip without much weight Softens
Coco-Caprylate/CaprateCoco-Caprylate light ester Light slip without much weight Softens
Undecane solvent The base everything else is dissolved in Softens
Tridecane solvent The base everything else is dissolved in Softens
Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
FragranceFragrance (Parfum) fragrance The scent Fragrance
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesThe list carries no sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. No protein: a moisture formula, not a repair one. Fragrance is on the label. Heavier butters sit in the working part of the list.
Full ingredient list (8)

In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.

  • 1 Isopropyl Palmitate
    General function

    A light ester that spreads quickly and leaves a smooth, non-greasy feel.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitFine or easily flattened hair

    A light emollient: it softens the surface with noticeably less weight than an oil or a butter.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Spreads thin and lowers friction between strands without the heaviness of a fixed oil.

    PubChem
    • light ester
    • emollient
  • 2 Coco-Caprylate/Caprate
    General function

    A plant-derived light ester used where a silicone-free but silky feel is wanted.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitFine or easily flattened hair

    A light emollient: it softens the surface with noticeably less weight than an oil or a butter.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Spreads thin and lowers friction between strands without the heaviness of a fixed oil.

    • light ester
    • emollient
  • 3 Coco-Caprylate/Caprate · Coco-Caprylate
    General function

    A plant-derived light ester used where a silicone-free but silky feel is wanted.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitFine or easily flattened hair

    A light emollient: it softens the surface with noticeably less weight than an oil or a butter.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Spreads thin and lowers friction between strands without the heaviness of a fixed oil.

    • light ester
    • emollient
  • 4 Undecane
    General function

    A light plant-derived hydrocarbon that spreads other ingredients and evaporates.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.

    • solvent
    • emollient
  • 5 Tridecane
    General function

    A light hydrocarbon carrier, usually paired with undecane as a plant alternative to volatile silicone.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.

    • solvent
    • emollient
  • 6 Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil
    General function

    Argan oil. A medium-weight oil used for shine and softness on the outside of the strand.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 7 Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil
    General function

    A thick, tacky oil used for sealing ends and for slick, held-down styles.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • ▾Below about here, the order stops meaning much. These are usually used at 1% or less.
  • 8 Fragrance · Fragrance (Parfum)
    General function

    An undisclosed blend of scent ingredients. Regulations let it stay unlisted, so a fragrance-free product is the only way to be certain what is not in it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
    • declared fragrance

What the whole list adds up to

  • 7 emollients
  • 3 light esters
  • 2 solvents
  • 2 oils
  • 1 fragrance
  • 1 declared fragrance

Ingredient list captured 2026-09-17. Formulas change, so check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 4 oz

Commonly seen $8–10 Midpoint $9.99 · 5 stores · checked Sep 17
Good value under $12 Under $3.02/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 8 products we score as doing the same job

Usually a good value. Most stores sell it under the $12 line, and products that do this job typically go for about $20 at this size.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it6 listings · 6 stores
  • Walmart
    $7.97
    4 oz · $1.99/oz
    Sep 17Lowest per oz
  • Target
    $7.99
    4 oz · $2.00/oz
    Sep 17
  • CVS
    $9.99
    4 oz · $2.50/oz
    Sep 17
  • Walgreens
    $9.99
    4 oz · $2.50/oz
    Sep 17
  • Ulta
    $10.99
    4 oz · $2.75/oz
    Sep 17
  • Ulta Beauty
    $10.99
    4 oz · $2.75/oz
    Sep 17

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.

How we work this out
  1. 4 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Commonly seen is the middle half of current prices for the 4 oz at recognised stores. We leave out the cheapest and most expensive quarters, so one sale or one overpriced listing can’t move it.
  3. Good value under $12 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $3.02/oz; at 4 oz that is $12. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. About $20 is what those same products typically cost at this size: the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 4 oz.

Formula

Formula score
3 of 10

Mid-range per ounce for a shorter formula: there is no conditioning agents up front here.

How the score is counted
  • Costs less per ounce than 65% of the 576 masks and treatments we’ve priced
  • No conditioning agents up front in the formula
  • No protein or amino acids either
  • Reviewers mention 3 things they like about how it performs
  • Rich emollientsThe depth a treatment step is built around.3 pts
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.2 pts
  • Protein or amino acidsThe strengthening side of a treatment.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A stated dwell timeThe brand says how long to leave it on.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job

Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.

Rene FurtererSame function Karité Nutri Intense Nourishing Oil $12.54/oz $10.04/oz more
  • Protein-free
  • Curly method
  • Rich
Differs
  • Salon tier
  • 3.5 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Leonor GreylClose function L'Huile de Leonor Greyl $17.00/oz $14.50/oz more
  • Protein-free
  • Curly method
  • Rich
Function
  • Slip and detangling
Also
  • Prestige tier
  • 3.2 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Kinky-CurlyLowest cost per oz Perfectly Polished $4.60/oz $2.10/oz more
  • Fragrance-free
  • Unscented
  • Protein-free
· Close function
Function
  • Slip and detangling
  • Weight on the hair
Also
  • Unscented
  • Cruelty-free
  • Masstige tier
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These products do a similar job. We haven’t matched them to you. Find the one that fits your hair, routine and budget

Built for curly to coily hair

Final decision

Should you buy it?

Good for the right person
Best user

Hair that stiffens on protein, looking for a protein-free formula and a curly-method-compatible formula

Biggest tradeoff

Less suited to anyone sensitive to fragrance, oily scalps and fine hair, or soft, over-stretchy hair that needs protein

Best alternative if not

Nothing in our library matches it closely at a lower price.

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, and what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.

2
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
2
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
1
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
Delivers 48 hours of glossy shine & delivers 4x smoother hair

A brand-run study. We report it as stated and do not repeat the number as fact.

—

Stated by brand

Only the brand’s testing shows this.

Mends up to 40% of split ends with each use

A brand-run study. We report it as stated and do not repeat the number as fact.

—

Stated by brand

Only the brand’s testing shows this.

Lightweight formula won't weigh hair down & is formulated for all hair types

Heavy emollients sit high in the list.

—

Potential conflict

Expect it to sit on the strand.

Silicone-free formula

No silicones appear in the ingredient list.

—

Supported

Nothing that needs a strong wash.

Clean ingredients, vegan, sustainable packaging

Our researched record has this brand or product as vegan.

—

Supported

Matches our researched record.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Themes that come up again and again in sourced reviews, written by our researchers in their own words. We don’t store or scrape star ratings.

Reviewers describe the scent as very pleasant.

Ulta customer reviews for this exact product

Reviewers with textured or coarse hair report it revives dull, tired-looking hair after one use.

Ulta customer reviews for this exact product

Reviewers say hair feels very soft and shiny without feeling oily or weighed down.

Ulta customer reviews for this exact product

Reviewers note the formula feels slick/greasy going on and is best applied in the shower, and that it helps smoothness more reliably than it fixes severe frizz or damage.

Ulta customer reviews for this exact product

Some reviewers with fine hair find it leaves the roots oilier than expected.

Ulta customer reviews for this exact product

More from OGX

How this page was made

  • Everything above comes from our researched product record: identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated prices and review themes our researchers wrote in their own words. No part of this page is written by hand for one product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 2 sources consulted for this product (0 manufacturer or regulatory, 1 retailer, 1 editorial), last checked 2026-09-17.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 1 of 8 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are general formulation guidance. They aren’t a verdict on the finished product or on you.
  • We haven’t tested this product in a lab, and we don’t physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list. Claims about how it behaves are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are what we saw on the dates shown and can change.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v23. Record last updated 2026-09-17.

Hair Care Consultation

A care plan made for your hair and goals, then follow-up questions and plan updates.

  • Answers to your hair concerns
  • Formula-based product picks
  • Routines for your lifestyle and preferences
  • Updates for weather, needs and goals

$49with 60 days of follow-ups

Start my consultation