Skip to main content
Kinky-Curly

Perfectly Polished

Mask / Weekly treatment, oil-rich

  • Mask / treatment
  • smoothing
  • Sulfate-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Cruelty-free · PETA-listed
Size3.99 fl oz
Price$18.35seen at one store · 3.99 oz
Price / oz$4.60/ozat 3.99 oz

Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.

Scent:

No added fragrance, no scenting essential oils, and no declared fragrance allergens on the list.

Manufacturer page: kinky-curly.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.

  • About 20 minutes, and your answers save as you go.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 21 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine built around your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates

$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.

Start your consultation

Upper-mid price for a treatment

$4.60/oz at 3.99 oz, more than 61% of the 576 masks and treatments , which mostly run $1.80–5.62/oz. The cost less.

Price and stores

Great for

no fragrance (parfum) on the label
free of strong smells
Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
Curly-method routinesno sulfates and no water-insoluble silicones
Silicone-free routinesno silicones appear in the list
Very dry hairno fast-drying alcohol in the list

Maybe skip if

Hair that needs proteinthere is none in this list
Hair that tangles wetnothing here makes combing easier
Very dry hairno humectant appears in the list
If scent matters to younothing is added here
Picking it up locallywe’ve only seen it sold in one channel

Whether your hair needs moisture, protein or bond repair right now depends on its damage history and how it behaves wet. The consultation finds out which.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo: Oiling the lengths
Start on
not stated on the label
Where
not stated on the label
Label wait
not stated on the label
Then
not stated on the label
Conditioner after
not stated on the label
How often
not stated on the label
Worth knowing
The page also permits hot-oil use; heated preparation is outside this release.

Not yet complete on our side: starting state, where it goes, how it comes out, the application steps, the wait. We list a product here once its label states a before-shampoo use. We only put it into a routine once every step is on record.

Browse technique guides (general advice, not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: brand page · checked 2026-09-16

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Oils and butters Present, high in the list

Oils sit high in the list: a softening, coating formula.

Weight on the hair Medium

Middle of the range: noticeable on fine hair, light on coarse hair.

Protein None

No protein or amino acids in the list.

Water-binding (humectants) None found

No humectants, so nothing here pulls water into the hair.

Slip and detangling Little

Nothing here is built to reduce combing force.

Needs detergent to remove No

Nothing here needs a detergent wash to remove.

Fragrance None listed

No fragrance is listed.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
Argania Spinosa Kernel OilArgania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesThe list carries no sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. No protein: a moisture formula, not a repair one.
Full ingredient list (1)

In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.

  • 1 Argania Spinosa Kernel Oil · Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil
    General function

    Argan oil. A medium-weight oil used for shine and softness on the outside of the strand.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient

What the whole list adds up to

  • 1 oil
  • 1 emollient

Ingredient list captured 2026-08-24. Formulas change, so check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 3.99 oz

Seen at $18.35 1 store · checked Aug 30
Good value under $9 Under $2.19/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 8 products we score as doing the same job

Priced above the products that do the same job. Stores sell it above the $9 line; products that do this job typically go for about $16 at this size.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it2 listings · 2 stores

3.99 ozusual store sizeBest per ounce

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.

How we work this out
  1. 3.99 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Seen at $18.35 is the price we have observed for the 3.99 oz. We need three stores before we call a price commonly seen.
  3. Good value under $9 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $2.19/oz; at 3.99 oz that is $9. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. About $16 is what those same products typically cost at this size: the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 3.99 oz.

Formula

Formula score
4 of 10

Mid-range per ounce for a shorter formula: there is no conditioning agents up front here.

How the score is counted
  • 4 products that do the same job cost less per ounce
  • Costs more per ounce than 61% of the 576 masks and treatments we’ve priced
  • No conditioning agents up front in the formula
  • No protein or amino acids either
  • Rich emollientsThe depth a treatment step is built around.3 pts
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.2 pts
  • Protein or amino acidsThe strengthening side of a treatment.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A stated dwell timeThe brand says how long to leave it on.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job, for less

Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.

Alikay NaturalsLighter feel Avocado Cream Moisture Repairing Hair Mask $2.25/oz $2.35/oz less
  • Fragrance-free
  • Protein-free
  • Curly method
· Close function
Function
  • Weight on the hair
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
OGXClose function Mirror Shine + Argan Oil Smoothing Pre-Wash Hair Gloss $2.50/oz $2.10/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Curly method
  • Rich
Function
  • Slip and detangling
  • Weight on the hair
Also
  • Vegan
  • Drugstore tier
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Palmer'sLowest cost per oz Tahitian Vanilla Hydra Gloss Pack $1.13/oz $3.47/oz less
  • Fragrance-free
  • Unscented
  • Protein-free
· Close function
Function
  • Water-binding (humectants)
  • Oils and butters
Also
  • Value tier
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These products do a similar job. We haven’t matched them to you. Find the one that fits your hair, routine and budget

Suits every hair pattern

Final decision

Should you buy it?

A solid pick for the hair it suits
Best user

People sensitive to fragrance who want a formula with no added fragrance and a product with no scent

Biggest tradeoff

Less suited to soft, over-stretchy hair that needs protein, hair that tangles the moment it is wet, or very dry hair that needs water-binding

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, and what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.

1
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
2
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
0
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
No mineral oil

"Clean" and "free from" are marketing frames, not defined terms.

—

Stated by brand

A brand’s own definition.

No petroleum

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

—

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

Silicone free

No silicones appear in the ingredient list.

—

Supported

Nothing that needs a strong wash.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Themes that come up again and again in sourced reviews, written by our researchers in their own words. We don’t store or scrape star ratings.

Softens hair and eliminates the stiff/crunchy feel left by Kinky-Curly Gloss Pomade, holds up better in warm/low-humidity weather

CurlTalk forum user review of Perfectly Polished hair oil after Target purchase, 2013

Price seen as too high relative to a homemade oil-blend alternative

CurlTalk forum user reply, 2013

Nice oil blend and scent that works well on oil-loving hair, but noted as pricey for the size

CurlTalk forum user reply, 2013

More from Kinky-Curly

How this page was made

  • Everything above comes from our researched product record: identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated prices and review themes our researchers wrote in their own words. No part of this page is written by hand for one product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 3 sources consulted for this product (3 manufacturer or regulatory, 0 retailer, 0 editorial), last checked 2026-08-25.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 0 of 1 product-aware annotation on this page. Fit notes are general formulation guidance. They aren’t a verdict on the finished product or on you.
  • We haven’t tested this product in a lab, and we don’t physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list. Claims about how it behaves are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are what we saw on the dates shown and can change.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v23. Record last updated 2026-08-25.

Hair Care Consultation

A care plan made for your hair and goals, then follow-up questions and plan updates.

  • Answers to your hair concerns
  • Formula-based product picks
  • Routines for your lifestyle and preferences
  • Updates for weather, needs and goals

$49with 60 days of follow-ups

Start my consultation