Pre-poo treatment relieves scalp irritation before shampooing
This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.
—
Can’t be confirmed from label.
Sizes & containers
4 fl oz · No store price at this size yet · UPC 810006942484
Scalp treatment
Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.
Scent:
The ingredient list declares fragrance. What it smells of is not stated, and we do not guess.
Manufacturer page: cantubeauty.co.uk
Personal fit
Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.
$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates
$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.
The rest of what your plan weighs on this product.
The consultation builds your hair profile, checks every factor in this table against it, and tells you where this product fits or what to use instead.
Start your consultation$49 once, with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates. Nothing renews, and you never have to buy a product.
Your avoid-list
Lower cost than most scalp treatments
$1.40/oz at 6 oz, less than 98% of the 280 scalp treatments , which mostly run $3.84–19.05/oz.
Great for
Maybe skip if
Wash day
Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.
Not yet complete on our side: starting state. We list a product here once its label states a before-shampoo use. We only put it into a routine once every step is on record.
Scalp products are listed for browsing; we do not yet place them in a personal routine.
Browse technique guides (general advice, not matched to this product’s directions)
Source: distributor page · checked 2026-09-17
What the formula actually does
Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.
Conditioning agents are present, lower in the list.
No oils or butters in the list.
Water-first and light: unlikely to flatten fine hair.
Humectants near the top: binding water is one of its main jobs.
No protein or amino acids in the list.
Nothing here needs a detergent wash to remove.
No chelating agent in the list.
Fragrance is listed; it sits below the working ingredients.
Ingredients that matter
The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.
| Ingredient | What it does | Why it matters | Chip |
|---|---|---|---|
| WaterAqua (Water) | solvent | The base everything else is dissolved in | Neutral |
| Glycerin | humectant | Pulls water into the hair | Moisturizes |
| Cocamidopropyl Betaine | amphoteric cleanser | — | Cleanses |
| Xanthan Gum | gum | Natural hold and clump definition | Holds |
| SilicaHydrated Silica | powder | Mattifies and absorbs oil | Stabilizes |
| Psidium Guajava Fruit ExtractPsidium Guajava Fruit Extract (Guava) | botanical extract | A plant extract, there as much for marketing as for function | Neutral |
| Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract | botanical extract | A plant extract, there as much for marketing as for function | Neutral |
| Acetic AcidAcetic Acid (Apple Cider Vinegar) | pH adjuster | Fine-tunes the pH | pH balancer |
| Turmeric Root OilCurcuma Longa (Turmeric) Root Oil | essential oil | — | Fragrance |
| Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil | botanical extract | A trace plant extract | Fragrance |
| FragranceParfum (Fragrance) | fragrance | The scent | Fragrance |
| Menthol | fragrance | The scent | Fragrance |
In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.
The base of almost every rinse-off and cream hair product. It carries everything else and is normally the first ingredient on the label.
Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.
Glycerin, also called glycerol, attracts moisture and mixes completely with water.
Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.
High-porosity hair loses water fast; a humectant holds some of it in place for longer than the wash itself would.
Binds water into the outer layers of the strand, and water is what makes dry hair flexible again rather than brittle.
Water moves both ways. Measured across concentrations, glycerin solutions give water up in some conditions and take it from the air in others. What it does for you depends on how much of it is there and on the air around it.
A mild coconut-derived co-cleanser that boosts foam and softens the effect of stronger detergents. It appears in most shampoos, gentle or not.
Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.
Mild cleansing leaves more surface lubrication in place on hair that dries out quickly.
The mildest detergents are also the least complete: a routine that deposits films needs something stronger periodically.
Among the mildest detergents in use — it is what baby shampoos are built on — but it is almost always the second detergent in a formula. How much a wash strips is still decided by the primary detergent listed above it.
A fermented sugar gum that thickens water-based formulas and adds soft, natural hold.
Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.
A polysaccharide film stays softer than a synthetic one as it dries, which is what leaves a curl defined but still able to move.
A soft film binds neighbouring strands together, which is most of what helps flyaways lie down.
Gum films stay soft. A style that needs firm fixation usually wants a synthetic polymer doing the holding.
A fine mineral powder that absorbs oil and adds grip. It is what makes texture powders and matte pastes feel dry to the touch.
Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.
A dry powder takes up oil and adds friction between strands, which is most of what root lift in fine hair actually is.
An extract from the fruit of Psidium Guajava. Plant extracts are used across a wide range of levels, and label order is the best guide to how much is here.
Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.
Ginger extract, a traditional scalp botanical used at low levels.
Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.
Vinegar acid, used in tiny amounts to bring the formula to an acidic pH so the cuticle lies flat.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
pH adjusters are how a formula is brought to a chosen acidity, and an acidic formula keeps the cuticle lying flatter than an alkaline one. Which way this one moves the pH depends on the formula, and the finished pH is not on the label.
Tea tree essential oil, used in scalp products for its sharp scent and traditional clarifying reputation.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.
An undisclosed blend of scent ingredients. Regulations let it stay unlisted, so a fragrance-free product is the only way to be certain what is not in it.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.
Produces the cooling, tingling feeling on the scalp. The sensation is real; it is not evidence that anything else is happening.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.
Cornmint oil, used for a cooling sensation and mint scent.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.
Peppermint essential oil, used for scent and the cooling feeling on the scalp.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.
A coconut-derived emulsifier that softens a cleanser and reduces the stripped feeling.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.
A rose-like fragrance component named separately as a recognised allergen.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.
A floral fragrance component listed separately as a recognised contact allergen.
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.
Ingredient list captured 2026-09-17. Formulas change, so check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.
Price · 6 oz
Usually a good value. Most stores sell it under the $17 line, and products that do this job typically go for about $29 at this size.
Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.
Formula
Not the most complete scalp treatment formula we have read, but it is under most of the range for scalp treatments per ounce.
The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.
Does the same job
Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.
See more alternatives in the product library
These products do a similar job. We haven’t matched them to you. Find the one that fits your hair, routine and budget



Final decision
Hair that stiffens on protein, looking for a protein-free formula and something that will not weigh hair down
Worth skipping for anyone sensitive to fragrance or very dry or very humid climates
Nothing in our library matches it closely at a lower price.
We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.
Claims check
Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.
Pre-poo treatment relieves scalp irritation before shampooing
This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.
—
Can’t be confirmed from label.
Turmeric exfoliates scalp to uplift oil, dead skin, and impurities
It reads light on the strand, which is what volume claims depend on.
Leaves room for lift.
Stimulates scalp to foster healthy hair growth
Density and growth are cosmetic claims an ingredient list cannot settle.
Not something a label can show.
Formulated for all hair types and textures
No formula reads the same on every texture; our fit panel is the better guide.
—
See the fit panel instead.
Helps soothe dry itchy scalp and promote length retention
No over-the-counter anti-dandruff active appears in the list.
Soothing, not an active treatment.
We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.