Skip to main content
Fable & Mane

HoliRoots Hair Oil

Scalp treatment

  • Scalp treatment
  • oil
  • Sulfate-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Protein-free
  • Vegan · label states
  • Cruelty-free · label states
Size1.8 fl ozmost listed · 2 sizes
Price$27.46seen at one store · 1.8 oz · from $10.81/oz in the 2.54 oz
Price / oz$15.96/ozat 1.8 oz
Where to buy2 stores · 2 sizes

Scent:

Notes: cedar, jasmine sambac, red champaca, tonka bean.

“Fresh, floral scent that blends Indian jasmine sambac, precious red champaca flowers and an unforgettably rich, warm base of cedarwood and tonka beans” — Brand page

Manufacturer page: fableandmane.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see exactly how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 2,400+ products in our library we can match exactly the right products to you.

  • In 10 minutes we can identify your exact hair condition and traits.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 21 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine for your daily life — your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49.00 one-time consultation, no subscription

Add the optional $49/year membership for unlimited adjustments for changes in weather and lifestyle.

Start your consultation

Upper-mid price for a scalp treatment

$15.96/oz at 1.8 oz — more than 68% of the 152 scalp treatments , which mostly run $3.22–20.64/oz. The cost less.

Price and stores

Great for

Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
Coarse or dry hairthat absorbs everything you give it
Silicone-free routinesno silicones appear in the list
Very dry hairno fast-drying alcohol in the list
Vegan and cruelty-freeour researched record has it as both

Maybe skip if

this product carries a scent
Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
Stretching wash dayswaxes stay until a detergent wash removes them
Tight budgetsit sits in the upper price tiers
Picking it up locallywe have it recorded in one channel only

Whether this much richness is right for you depends on your strand thickness, porosity, and how easily your hair flattens — that is what the consultation works out.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo — Scalp oiling
Start on
dry hair
Where
scalp, roots
Label wait
at least 5 minutes (longer allowed)
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Conditioner after
not stated on the label
How often
not stated on the label
  1. Section dry hair.
  2. Take one dropper of oil into the palms of your hands.
  3. Massage into your roots in circular motions, section by section.
  4. Leave on for a minimum of five minutes, or overnight for the best results.
  5. Rinse thoroughly before cleansing with shampoo.

Scalp products are listed for browsing; we do not yet place them in a personal routine.

Browse technique guides (general — not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: brand page · checked 2026-09-17

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Slip and detangling Some

Some slip, mostly from esters or silicones rather than conditioners.

Oils and butters Present, high in the list

Oils sit high in the list — a softening, coating formula.

Weight on the hair Rich

Heavy butters and waxes in the first eight ingredients.

Water-binding (humectants) None found

No humectants found — nothing here pulls water into the hair.

Protein None

No protein or amino acids in the list.

Needs detergent to remove Yes

Water-insoluble silicones or waxes: a detergent wash is what removes them.

Hard-water defence None

No chelating agent in the list.

Fragrance Present

Fragrance is listed; it sits below the working ingredients.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients plus anything lower down that changes a decision. These chips name what an ingredient does — they are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride light ester Light slip without much weight Softens
Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Withania Somnifera Root Extract botanical extract A plant extract, marketed as much as functional Neutral
Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil emollient Softens and smooths the strand Buildup
Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract botanical extract A plant extract, marketed as much as functional Neutral
FragranceParfum (Fragrance) fragrance The scent Fragrance
Benzyl Salicylate fragrance The scent Fragrance
Benzyl Benzoate fragrance The scent Fragrance
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesThe list carries no sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. No protein — a moisture formula, not a repair one. Fragrance is on the label. Heavier butters sit in the working part of the list.
Full ingredient list (29)

US labelling rules put ingredients above 1% in descending order of amount; below 1% they may be listed in any order. Annotations keep three readings separate: the ingredient's general function, its role in this product type, and what its position can support.

  • 1 Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride
    General function

    A light, refined coconut-derived oil that spreads easily and does not go rancid. It gives slip without a heavy feel.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitFine or easily flattened hair

    A light emollient: it softens the surface with noticeably less weight than an oil or a butter.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Spreads thin and lowers friction between strands without the heaviness of a fixed oil.

    • light ester
    • emollient
  • 2 Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil
    General function

    A light oil that softens without much residue.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 3 Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil
    General function

    A heavy, coating oil traditionally used for deep conditioning.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 4 Withania Somnifera Root Extract
    General function

    An extract from the root of Withania Somnifera. Plant extracts are used across a wide range of levels, and label order is the best guide to how much is here.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    • botanical extract
  • 5 Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil
    General function

    Not chemically an oil: about 97% of it is liquid wax esters, which is why it resists going rancid and sits close to the scalp's own sebum. It smooths without a heavy finish.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May suitMaximum-hold styling

    A wax holds by staying solid on the strand, which gives grip and separation rather than a set film that cracks.

    • emollient
    • light ester
    • oil
    • wax
  • 6 Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil
    General function

    A thick, tacky oil used for sealing ends and for slick, held-down styles.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 7 Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil
    General function

    A light oil used where softness is wanted without weight.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 8 Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract
    General function

    An extract from the fruit of Phyllanthus Emblica. Plant extracts are used across a wide range of levels, and label order is the best guide to how much is here.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    • botanical extract
  • 9 Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil
    General function

    A medium-weight oil used for conditioning and scalp application.

    Secondary ingredient

    Lower in the ordered portion of the list, it is more likely playing a supporting role than defining the formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 10 Bacopa Monnieri (Brahmi) Leaf Extract
  • 11 Eclipta Prostrata (Bhringraj) Extract
  • 12 Beta-Sitosterol
  • 13 Aegle Marmelos Root Extract
  • 14 Desmodium Gangeticum Root Extract
  • 15 Gmelina Arborea Root Extract
  • 16 Premna Serratifolia Root Extract
  • 17 Solanum Indicum Root Extract
  • 18 Solanum Xanthocarpum Root Extract
  • 19 Stereospermum Suaveolens Root Extract
  • 20 Oroxylum Indicum Root Extract
  • 21 Tribulus Terrestris Root Extract
  • 22 Uraria Picta Root Extract
  • Below about this point, order stops being meaningful — these are typically used at 1% or less.
  • 23 Fragrance · Parfum (Fragrance)
    General function

    An undisclosed blend of scent ingredients. Regulations let it stay unlisted, so a fragrance-free product is the only way to be certain what is not in it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
    • declared fragrance
  • 24 Tocopherol
    • antioxidant
    • vitamin
  • 25 Phenoxyethanol
    • preservative
  • 26 Squalene
    General function

    The unsaturated parent of squalane and a natural component of scalp sebum. It is less stable than squalane and oxidises faster.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.

    • emollient
  • 27 Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract
    • botanical extract
  • 28 Benzyl Salicylate
    General function

    A soft floral fragrance component listed separately as a recognised allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 29 Benzyl Benzoate
    General function

    A fragrance component with a faint balsamic scent, named separately on the label because it is a recognised contact allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen

What the whole list adds up to

  • 8 emollients
  • 6 oils
  • 3 botanical extracts
  • 3 fragrances
  • 2 light esters
  • 2 named fragrance allergens
  • 1 wax
  • 1 declared fragrance
  • 1 antioxidant
  • 1 vitamin
  • 1 preservative

Ingredient list captured 2026-09-17. Formulas change — check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 1.8 oz

Seen at $27.46 1 store · checked Sep 17
Good value under $10 Under $5.33/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 8 products we score as doing the same job

Priced above the products that do the same job. Stores sell it above the $10 line; products that do this job typically go for about $24 at this size.

Sizes

1.8 ozmost listed
$38
$21.11/oz
2.54 oz
$27.46
$10.81/oz

The 2.54 oz costs 49% less per ounce than the 1.8 oz.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it2 listings · 2 stores

1.8 ozmost listed

2.54 ozBest per ounce

  • Cult Beauty
    $27.46
    2.54 oz · $10.81/oz
    Sep 17Lowest per ozSale · was $34.32

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.

How we work this out
  1. 1.8 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Seen at $27.46 is the price we have observed for the 1.8 oz. We need three stores before we call a price commonly seen.
  3. Good value under $10 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $5.33/oz; at 1.8 oz that is $10. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. Each size is guarded on its own, so a multipack or a marketplace listing at one size cannot move another.
  5. About $24 is what those same products typically cost at this size — the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 1.8 oz.

Formula

Formula score
3 of 10

Mid-range per ounce for a shorter formula: there is no conditioning agents up front here.

How the score is counted
  • 4 products that do the same job cost less per ounce
  • Costs more per ounce than 68% of the 152 scalp treatments we’ve priced
  • No conditioning agents up front in the formula
  • No slip for detangling either
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.3 pts
  • Oils or butters in the working zoneSoftens the strand rather than just coating it.2 pts
  • Slip for detanglingReduces the force it takes to comb wet hair.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A pH adjusterBrings the formula to the acidic pH hair prefers.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score is completeness for the job: the share of the systems this product type is normally built around that we can find in this list, weighted. It is not efficacy, not quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job, for less

Same derived functions — what it cleans, conditions, coats or holds — at a lower cost per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy it can still differ.

Miss Jessie'sClosest function Grow Strong MAFURA - Natural Hair Growth Oil $7.33/oz $8.63/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Rich
  • Silicone-free
Function
  • Oils and butters
Also
  • Drugstore tier
  • 1.5 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Bondi BoostClose function Elixir Pre-Wash Oil $5.44/oz $10.52/oz less
  • Rich
  • Vegan & CF
Function
  • Needs detergent to remove
Also
  • Mint scent, not woody
  • Masstige tier
  • 4.2 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Mielle OrganicsLowest cost per oz Rosemary Mint Scalp & Hair Strengthening Oil $5.00/oz $10.96/oz less
  • Rich
  • Budget
· Close function
Function
  • Water-binding (humectants)
  • Film formers
Also
  • Drugstore tier
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These are functional neighbours, not personal recommendations — they are close on formula, not chosen for anyone. Get the one that fits your hair, routine, and budget

Built for curly to coily hair

Final decision

Should you buy it?

Good for the right person
Best user

Hair that stiffens on protein, looking for a protein-free formula and a formula with real substance

Biggest tradeoff

Not ideal for anyone sensitive to fragrance, oily scalps and fine hair, or anyone stretching time between washes

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, against what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We only mark one supported, partly supported, or conflicting when the ingredient list actually speaks to it; everything else stays "stated by the brand", which is not a criticism — most claims simply cannot be read off a label.

1
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
2
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
0
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
Strengthens roots and strands to help prevent breakage

No protein or bond ingredient appears in the list.

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

Stimulates scalp circulation for healthier hair

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

Weightless hair and scalp hydration

Humectants or rich emollients sit in the first eight ingredients.

  • Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride
  • Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil
  • Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil
Supported

Helps hair feel hydrated.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula — not marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Recurring themes our researchers wrote in their own words from sourced reviews. We do not store or scrape star ratings.

Reviewers report hair feeling noticeably softer and shinier after regular use

general reviewers across ratings, several repeat buyers

A recurring group of reviewers credits regular use with less hair shedding and stronger, thicker-feeling hair over weeks of use

reviewers describing weeks-to-months of regular (often once-weekly) use

Several reviewers describe scalp relief, including calmer itchiness or reduced flaking, after applying the oil to the scalp

reviewers who named a pre-existing itchy, dry or flaky scalp

How this page was made

  • Everything above is generated from our researched product record — identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated price observations, and review themes written in our researchers' own words. No part of this page is written per product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 2 sources consulted for this product (1 manufacturer or regulatory, 0 retailer, 1 editorial), last checked 2026-09-17.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 2 of 11 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are conditional formulation guidance, not a conclusion about the finished product or about you.
  • We have not tested this product in a lab and we do not physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list; behaviour claims are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are observations on the dates shown and change without notice.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v22. Record last updated 2026-09-17.