Skip to main content
AAVRANI

Hair & Scalp Recovery Oil

Scalp treatment

  • Scalp treatment
  • oil
  • Vegan · label states
  • Cruelty-free · label states
Size1.69 fl oz
Price$35seen at one store · 1.69 oz
Price / oz$20.71/ozat 1.69 oz
Where to buy1 store

Scent:

Notes: citrus, eucalyptus, herbal, rosemary.

“Light top notes of sun-kissed citrus combine with fresh herbal base notes of rosemary and eucalyptus for a soothing, subtle aroma.” — Brand page

Manufacturer page: aavrani.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see exactly how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 2,400+ products in our library we can match exactly the right products to you.

  • In 10 minutes we can identify your exact hair condition and traits.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 17 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine for your daily life — your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49.00 one-time consultation, no subscription

Add the optional $49/year membership for unlimited adjustments for changes in weather and lifestyle.

Start your consultation

Same job for less elsewhere

$20.71/oz at 1.69 oz — more than 76% of the 154 scalp treatments , which mostly run $3.25–20.21/oz.

View alternatives

Great for

Coarse or dry hairthat absorbs everything you give it
Vegan and cruelty-freeour researched record has it as both
Short ingredient listsfifteen ingredients or fewer

Maybe skip if

this product carries a scent
Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
Stretching wash dayswaxes stay until a detergent wash removes them
Tight budgetsit sits in the upper price tiers
Picking it up locallywe have it recorded in one channel only

Whether this much richness is right for you depends on your strand thickness, porosity, and how easily your hair flattens — that is what the consultation works out.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo — Scalp oiling, Oiling the lengths
Start on
not stated on the label
Where
scalp and lengths
Label wait
10–60 minutes
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Conditioner after
not stated on the label
How often
1× a week
  1. Apply 3-4 droppers full directly onto the scalp and massage throughout in a circular motion.
  2. Massage from the scalp through the ends of hair strands for added nourishment and moisture.
  3. Leave on for 10 minutes to an hour before washing out.
  4. wash out

Not yet complete on our side: starting state. We list a product here once its label states a before-shampoo use. We only put it into a routine once every step is on record.

Scalp products are listed for browsing; we do not yet place them in a personal routine.

Browse technique guides (general — not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: brand page · checked 2026-09-17

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Slip and detangling Little

Nothing here is built to reduce combing force.

Oils and butters Present, high in the list

Oils sit high in the list — a softening, coating formula.

Weight on the hair Rich

Heavy butters and waxes in the first eight ingredients.

Water-binding (humectants) None found

No humectants found — nothing here pulls water into the hair.

Needs detergent to remove Yes

Water-insoluble silicones or waxes: a detergent wash is what removes them.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients plus anything lower down that changes a decision. These chips name what an ingredient does — they are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Ricinus Communis (Castor) Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Hydrogenated Castor Oil/Sebacic Acid Copolymer wax Holds shape and adds weight Buildup
Pongamia Glabra (Karanja) Seed Oil Neutral
Squalane emollient Softens and smooths the strand Detangles
Emblica Officinalis (Amla) Fruit Extract Neutral
Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract botanical extract A trace plant extract Stabilizes
Tocopheryl Acetate antioxidant Protects the formula Stabilizes
Limonene fragrance The scent Fragrance
Linalool fragrance The scent Fragrance
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesHeavier butters sit in the working part of the list. Vegan and cruelty-free.
Full ingredient list (13)

US labelling rules put ingredients above 1% in descending order of amount; below 1% they may be listed in any order. Annotations keep three readings separate: the ingredient's general function, its role in this product type, and what its position can support.

  • 1 Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil
    General function

    A light, widely used oil that softens without much weight.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    International Journal of Trichology
    • oil
    • emollient
  • 2 Ricinus Communis (Castor) Oil
    General function

    The oil pressed from Castor (Ricinus Communis). It is one of the heavier plant oils — rich on coarse or dry hair, and enough to flatten fine hair.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 3 Hydrogenated Castor Oil/Sebacic Acid Copolymer
    General function

    A castor-derived wax polymer that thickens balms and helps a style hold.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.

    May suitMaximum-hold styling

    A wax holds by staying solid on the strand, which gives grip and separation rather than a set film that cracks.

    May not suitBuild-up-sensitive routines

    Waxes do not dissolve in water. They need a detergent wash to come off, and they are the classic cause of a coated feel.

    • wax
    • film former
    • emollient
  • 4 Pongamia Glabra (Karanja) Seed Oil
  • 5 Squalane
    General function

    The fully hydrogenated form of squalene, now made from olive or sugarcane rather than shark liver. Hydrogenation is what makes it so slow to oxidise; it spreads very lightly and absorbs without a greasy film.

    Supporting ingredient

    Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Deposits a lubricating layer that makes combing easier, which is most of what stops mechanical damage adding to frizz.

    PubChem
    • emollient
    • conditioning agent
  • 6 Emblica Officinalis (Amla) Fruit Extract
  • Below about this point, order stops being meaningful — these are typically used at 1% or less.
  • 7 Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract
    General function

    Rosemary extract, used both as a scent note and as a natural antioxidant in scalp products.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    • botanical extract
    • antioxidant
  • 8 Tocopheryl Acetate
    General function

    A stable form of vitamin E used to keep the oils in a formula from oxidising. It is used at fractions of a percent.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    PubChem
    • antioxidant
    • vitamin
  • 9 Phenoxyethanol
    • preservative
  • 10 Fragrance (Naturally derived)
  • 11 Ethylhexylglycerin
    General function

    A preservative booster that also adds a little softness. Almost always paired with phenoxyethanol.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    Emollients fill and smooth the surface of the strand, which lowers the friction that lifts the cuticle and reads as roughness.

    PubChem
    • preservative
    • emollient
  • 12 Limonene
    General function

    A citrus-smelling fragrance component that EU rules require to be named separately because some people react to it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 13 Linalool
    General function

    A floral fragrance component listed separately as a recognised contact allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen

What the whole list adds up to

  • 5 emollients
  • 2 oils
  • 2 antioxidants
  • 2 preservatives
  • 2 fragrances
  • 2 named fragrance allergens
  • 1 wax
  • 1 film former
  • 1 conditioning agent
  • 1 botanical extract
  • 1 vitamin

Ingredient list captured 2026-09-17. Formulas change — check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 1.69 oz

Seen at $35 1 store · checked Sep 17
Good value under $4 Under $2.43/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 8 products we score as doing the same job

Priced above the products that do the same job. Stores sell it above the $4 line; products that do this job typically go for about $6 at this size.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it1 listing · 1 store

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product. and 1 listing we don’t count — grey-market or unverified sellers.

How we work this out
  1. 1.69 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Seen at $35 is the price we have observed for the 1.69 oz. We need three stores before we call a price commonly seen.
  3. Good value under $4 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $2.43/oz; at 1.69 oz that is $4. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. About $6 is what those same products typically cost at this size — the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 1.69 oz.

Formula

Formula score
3 of 10

Above the range for scalp treatments per ounce for a shorter formula — there is no conditioning agents up front — with 2 close matches costing less.

How the score is counted
  • 2 products that do the same job cost less per ounce
  • Costs more per ounce than 76% of the 154 scalp treatments we’ve priced
  • No conditioning agents up front in the formula
  • No slip for detangling either
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.3 pts
  • Oils or butters in the working zoneSoftens the strand rather than just coating it.2 pts
  • Slip for detanglingReduces the force it takes to comb wet hair.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A pH adjusterBrings the formula to the acidic pH hair prefers.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score is completeness for the job: the share of the systems this product type is normally built around that we can find in this list, weighted. It is not efficacy, not quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job, for less

Same derived functions — what it cleans, conditions, coats or holds — at a lower cost per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy it can still differ.

Mielle OrganicsLowest cost per oz Rosemary Mint Pomade-to-Oil Scalp & Hair Quencher $2.00/oz $18.71/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Rich
  • Silicone-free
· Close function
Function
  • Oils and butters
Also
  • Drugstore tier
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Design EssentialsClose function Scalp Care Anti-Itch & Tension Relief Scalp Butter $2.60/oz $18.11/oz less
  • Rich
Function
  • Water-binding (humectants)
Also
  • Masstige tier
  • 5 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These are functional neighbours, not personal recommendations — they are close on formula, not chosen for anyone. Get the one that fits your hair, routine, and budget

Built for curly to coily hair

Final decision

Should you buy it?

Hard to justify at this price
Best user

Coarse, dry, or high-porosity hair who want a formula with real substance and a vegan, cruelty-free product

Biggest tradeoff

Less suited to anyone sensitive to fragrance, oily scalps and fine hair, or anyone stretching time between washes

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, against what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We only mark one supported, partly supported, or conflicting when the ingredient list actually speaks to it; everything else stays "stated by the brand", which is not a criticism — most claims simply cannot be read off a label.

2
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
2
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
0
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
vegan

Our researched record has this brand or product as vegan.

Supported

Matches our researched record.

cruelty-free

Our researched record has this brand as cruelty-free.

Supported

Matches our researched record.

color-safe

The detergent system is not recorded, so fade risk cannot be read.

  • Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract
  • Tocopheryl Acetate
Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

safe for use while pregnant or nursing

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula — not marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Recurring themes our researchers wrote in their own words from sourced reviews. We do not store or scrape star ratings.

More than one reviewer with fine or thinning hair reported their hair feeling fuller, stronger or growing better after continued use.

Several reviewers say the oil leaves hair feeling moisturized and nourished without a greasy residue, including when used as a pre-wash scalp treatment.

How this page was made

  • Everything above is generated from our researched product record — identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated price observations, and review themes written in our researchers' own words. No part of this page is written per product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 3 sources consulted for this product (1 manufacturer or regulatory, 0 retailer, 2 editorial), last checked 2026-09-17.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 5 of 6 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are conditional formulation guidance, not a conclusion about the finished product or about you.
  • We have not tested this product in a lab and we do not physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list; behaviour claims are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are observations on the dates shown and change without notice.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v22. Record last updated 2026-09-17.