Skip to main content
Rene Furterer

Complexe 5 Stimulating Plant Concentrate

Scalp treatment

  • Scalp treatment
  • oil
  • Sulfate-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Protein-free
Size1.6 fl oz (50 ml)
Price$58seen at one store · 1.6 oz
Price / oz$36.25/ozat 1.6 oz

Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.

Scent:

The ingredient list declares fragrance. What it smells of is not stated, and we do not guess.

Manufacturer page: thefrenchcosmeticsclub.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.

  • About 20 minutes, and your answers save as you go.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 20 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine built around your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates

$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.

Start your consultation

Same job for less elsewhere

$36.25/oz at 1.6 oz, more than 92% of the 280 scalp treatments , which mostly run $3.84–19.05/oz.

View alternatives

Great for

Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
Silicone-free routinesno silicones appear in the list
Very dry hairno fast-drying alcohol in the list
A wide range of haira middle-of-the-range weight
Short ingredient listsfifteen ingredients or fewer

Maybe skip if

this product has a scent
Tight budgetsit sits in the upper price tiers

Whether this much richness suits you depends on your strand thickness, porosity and how easily your hair goes flat. We work that out in the consultation.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo: Scalp oiling
Start on
dry hair
Where
scalp
Label wait
5–10 minutes
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Conditioner after
not stated on the label
How often
1–2× a week
  1. Apply section by section all over a dry, unwashed scalp.
  2. Massage in.
  3. Leave on for 5 to 10 minutes.
  4. Then shampoo.

Scalp products are listed for browsing; we do not yet place them in a personal routine.

Browse technique guides (general advice, not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: distributor page · checked 2026-09-17

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Slip and detangling Little

Nothing here is built to reduce combing force.

Oils and butters Present, high in the list

Oils sit high in the list: a softening, coating formula.

Weight on the hair Medium

Middle of the range: noticeable on fine hair, light on coarse hair.

Water-binding (humectants) None found

No humectants, so nothing here pulls water into the hair.

Protein None

No protein or amino acids in the list.

Needs detergent to remove No

Nothing here needs a detergent wash to remove.

Hard-water defence None

No chelating agent in the list.

Fragrance Present

Fragrance is listed; it sits below the working ingredients.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
Limonene fragrance The scent, and a large share of the formula this high up Fragrance
Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil fragrance The scent, and a large share of the formula this high up Fragrance
Lavandula Hybrida Oil botanical extract A trace plant extract Fragrance
Linalool fragrance The scent Fragrance
May Chang Fruit OilLitsea Cubeba Fruit Oil essential oil — Fragrance
Citral fragrance The scent Fragrance
Citronellol fragrance The scent Fragrance
Farnesol fragrance The scent Fragrance
FragranceFragrance (Parfum) fragrance The scent Fragrance
Geraniol fragrance The scent Fragrance
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesNo sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. Protein-free: this is built for moisture rather than for strengthening. Contains fragrance.
Full ingredient list (13)

In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.

  • 1 Limonene
    General function

    A citrus-smelling fragrance component that EU rules require to be named separately because some people react to it.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 2 Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil
    General function

    A thick, tacky oil used for sealing ends and for slick, held-down styles.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    May not suitFine or easily flattened hair

    Near the top of a list an oil is weight before it is anything else, and fine hair shows that first at the roots.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 3 Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil
    General function

    Orange peel oil used for a fresh citrus scent; naturally high in limonene.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
    • botanical extract
  • ▾Below about here, the order stops meaning much. These are usually used at 1% or less.
  • 4 Lavandula Hybrida Oil
    General function

    The essential oil of Lavandula Hybrida. Essential oils are aromatic — they are in the formula for scent, and they are a common source of declared fragrance allergens.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 5 Linalool
    General function

    A floral fragrance component listed separately as a recognised contact allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 6 May Chang Fruit Oil · Litsea Cubeba Fruit Oil
    General function

    A volatile essential oil pressed from the berries of Litsea cubeba (may chang); used in stylers and pre-shampoo treatments mainly as a natural fragrance/masking ingredient.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 7 Citral
    General function

    A lemon-scented fragrance component listed separately as a recognised allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 8 Citronellol
    General function

    A rose-like fragrance component named separately as a recognised allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 9 Farnesol
    General function

    A soft floral fragrance component listed separately as a recognised allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 10 Fragrance · Fragrance (Parfum)
    General function

    An undisclosed blend of scent ingredients. Regulations let it stay unlisted, so a fragrance-free product is the only way to be certain what is not in it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
    • declared fragrance
  • 11 Geraniol
    General function

    A rose-scented fragrance component, listed on its own because some people react to it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 12 Origanum Majorana Leaf Oil
  • 13 Origanum Vulgare Leaf Oil

What the whole list adds up to

  • 10 fragrances
  • 6 named fragrance allergens
  • 2 botanical extracts
  • 2 essential oils
  • 1 oil
  • 1 emollient
  • 1 declared fragrance

Ingredient list captured 2026-09-17. Formulas change, so check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 1.6 oz

Seen at $58 lowest of 2 stores · checked Sep 17
Good value under $12 Under $7.54/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 8 products we score as doing the same job

Priced above the products that do the same job. Stores sell it above the $12 line; products that do this job typically go for about $17 at this size.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it5 listings · 4 stores

1.6 ozusual store sizeBest per ounce

0.19 oz

  • Dermstore
    $58.00
    0.19 oz · $305.26/oz
    Sep 17Lowest per oz

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.

How we work this out
  1. 1.6 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Seen at $58 is the price we have observed for the 1.6 oz. We need three stores before we call a price commonly seen.
  3. Good value under $12 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $7.54/oz; at 1.6 oz that is $12. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. About $17 is what those same products typically cost at this size: the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 1.6 oz.

Formula

Formula score
2 of 10

It costs more per ounce than 92% of the 280 scalp treatments we’ve priced, the formula leaves out conditioning agents up front, and 6 close matches sell for at least a quarter less per ounce.

How the score is counted
  • 6 products we score as doing the same job cost less per ounce
  • Costs more per ounce than 92% of the 280 scalp treatments we’ve priced
  • No conditioning agents up front in the formula
  • No slip for detangling either
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.3 pts
  • Oils or butters in the working zoneSoftens the strand rather than just coating it.2 pts
  • Slip for detanglingReduces the force it takes to comb wet hair.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A pH adjusterBrings the formula to the acidic pH hair prefers.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job, for less

Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.

Sunny IsleSame function 100% Raw and Pure Batana Oil $9.00/oz $27.25/oz less
  • Fragrance-free
  • Unscented
  • Protein-free
Differs
  • Unscented
  • Masstige tier
  • 2 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Taliah WaajidLowest cost per oz Hair & Scalp Oil With Vitamin E $1.25/oz $35.00/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Alcohol-free
· Same function
Differs
  • Drugstore tier
  • 8 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
TGINClose function Jamaican Black Castor Oil Growth Serum $3.14/oz $33.11/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Rich
  • Silicone-free
Function
  • Weight on the hair
Also
  • Cruelty-free
  • Masstige tier
  • 4 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These products do a similar job. We haven’t matched them to you. Find the one that fits your hair, routine and budget

Suits every hair pattern

Final decision

Should you buy it?

Good for the right person, not the lowest cost
Best user

Hair that stiffens on protein who want a protein-free formula and a silicone-free formula

Biggest tradeoff

Worth skipping for anyone sensitive to fragrance or people shopping on a budget

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, and what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.

0
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
2
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
1
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
Purifies, strengthens and stimulates the scalp

The detergent system is gentle; it is unlikely to clear heavy build-up on its own.

—

Potential conflict

Too gentle for real build-up.

An invigorated scalp for more beautiful, stronger hair

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

—

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

Formulated with a concentration of warming essential oils of orange and lavender

A named-ingredient story. What matters is where those sit in the list — see the ingredients table.

  • Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil
  • Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil
  • Lavandula Hybrida Oil
Stated by brand

Check the position, not the name.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Themes that come up again and again in sourced reviews, written by our researchers in their own words. We don’t store or scrape star ratings.

Reviewers enjoy the tingly, warming sensation and the massage applicator tip.

LovelySkin customer reviews for this exact product

Some reviewers report visible new hair growth at the temples after months of regular use.

LovelySkin customer reviews for this exact product

Reviewers say their scalp feels less dry and more comfortable with regular use.

LovelySkin customer reviews for this exact product

One reviewer with psoriasis found it aggravated their scalp, while another saw no progress after only a couple of uses.

LovelySkin customer reviews for this exact product

More from Rene Furterer

How this page was made

  • Everything above comes from our researched product record: identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated prices and review themes our researchers wrote in their own words. No part of this page is written by hand for one product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 5 sources consulted for this product (0 manufacturer or regulatory, 1 retailer, 4 editorial), last checked 2026-09-17.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 4 of 10 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are general formulation guidance. They aren’t a verdict on the finished product or on you.
  • We haven’t tested this product in a lab, and we don’t physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list. Claims about how it behaves are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are what we saw on the dates shown and can change.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v23. Record last updated 2026-09-17.

Hair Care Consultation

A care plan made for your hair and goals, then follow-up questions and plan updates.

  • Answers to your hair concerns
  • Formula-based product picks
  • Routines for your lifestyle and preferences
  • Updates for weather, needs and goals

$49with 60 days of follow-ups

Start my consultation