Skip to main content
Phyto

SCALP SOLUTIONS Balancing Concentrate Polleine

Scalp treatment

  • Scalp treatment
  • oil
  • Sulfate-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Protein-free
  • Vegan · ingredient list
  • Not cruelty-free · PETA-listed
Size1.01 fl oz (30 ml)
Price$43.29seen at one store · 1.01 oz
Price / oz$42.86/ozat 1.01 oz

Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.

Scent:

The ingredient list declares fragrance. What it smells of is not stated, and we do not guess.

“Relaxing fragrance offering 'a real moment of well-being' with a feeling of freshness” (Brand page)

Manufacturer page: us.phyto.com

Personal fit

Is this right for you?

Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.

  • About 20 minutes, and your answers save as you go.
  • Every product matched against your hair across the 20 factors we check.
  • A personalized routine built around your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
  • Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
  • Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.

$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates

$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.

Start your consultation

Same job for less elsewhere

$42.86/oz at 1.01 oz, more than 96% of the 280 scalp treatments , which mostly run $3.84–19.05/oz.

View alternatives

Great for

Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
Silicone-free routinesno silicones appear in the list
Very dry hairno fast-drying alcohol in the list
A wide range of haira middle-of-the-range weight

Maybe skip if

this product has a scent
Vegan and cruelty-freeour record does not support both claims here
Tight budgetsit sits in the upper price tiers

Whether this much richness suits you depends on your strand thickness, porosity and how easily your hair goes flat. We work that out in the consultation.

Wash day

How it fits into wash day

Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.

When
Before shampoo: Scalp pre-cleanse, Scalp oiling
Start on
dry hair
Where
scalp
Label wait
20 minutes
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Conditioner after
not stated on the label
How often
1× a week
  1. Apply 2 droppers (fine hair) or 4 droppers (thick hair) to dry scalp.
  2. Distribute evenly and massage gently for 20 minutes.
  3. Rinse thoroughly, then shampoo.

Scalp products are listed for browsing; we do not yet place them in a personal routine.

Browse technique guides (general advice, not matched to this product’s directions)

Source: brand page · checked 2026-09-17

What the formula actually does

Read from the label, not the marketing

Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.

Slip and detangling Little

Nothing here is built to reduce combing force.

Oils and butters Present, high in the list

Oils sit high in the list: a softening, coating formula.

Weight on the hair Medium

Middle of the range: noticeable on fine hair, light on coarse hair.

Water-binding (humectants) None found

No humectants, so nothing here pulls water into the hair.

Protein None

No protein or amino acids in the list.

Needs detergent to remove No

Nothing here needs a detergent wash to remove.

Hard-water defence None

No chelating agent in the list.

Fragrance Prominent

Fragrance is in the first eight ingredients, so it makes up a larger share of the formula.

from the formula stated by the brand reported by reviewers Scale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.

Ingredients that matter

The ingredients that change a decision

The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.

IngredientWhat it doesWhy it mattersChip
Zea Mays Germ Oil / Corn Germ OilZea Mays (Corn) Germ Oil oil Coats and softens the strand Softens
Eucalyptus Globulus Oil botanical extract A plant extract, there as much for marketing as for function Fragrance
Lavandula Oil/Extract botanical extract A plant extract, there as much for marketing as for function Neutral
Linalool fragrance The scent Fragrance
Limonene fragrance The scent Fragrance
Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil botanical extract A trace plant extract Fragrance
Lavandula Hybrida Oil botanical extract A trace plant extract Fragrance
Cupressus Sempervirens Leaf/Nut/Stem Oil fragrance The scent Fragrance
Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil botanical extract A trace plant extract Fragrance
Pinene fragrance The scent Fragrance
Juniper berry oilJuniperus Communis Fruit Oil essential oil — Fragrance
Linalyl Acetate fragrance The scent Fragrance
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesNo sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. Protein-free: this is built for moisture rather than for strengthening. Contains fragrance.
Full ingredient list (27)

In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.

  • 1 Zea Mays Germ Oil / Corn Germ Oil · Zea Mays (Corn) Germ Oil
    General function

    The oil pressed from Zea Mays's germ. How much weight a plant oil leaves depends on the hair it lands on; coarse hair tends to take more of it than fine hair.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    • oil
    • emollient
  • 2 Eucalyptus Globulus Oil
    General function

    The essential oil of Eucalyptus Globulus. Essential oils are aromatic — they are in the formula for scent, and they are a common source of declared fragrance allergens.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 3 Lavandula Oil/Extract
    General function

    An extract of Lavandula Oil/. Plant extracts are used across a wide range of levels, and label order is the best guide to how much is here.

    Leading ingredient

    Listed in the first three ingredients, it is likely a structural part of this formula.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
  • ▾Below about here, the order stops meaning much. These are usually used at 1% or less.
  • 4 Linalool
    General function

    A floral fragrance component listed separately as a recognised contact allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 5 Limonene
    General function

    A citrus-smelling fragrance component that EU rules require to be named separately because some people react to it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 6 Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil
    General function

    Lavender essential oil, used for scent in aromatherapy-positioned products.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 7 Lavandula Hybrida Oil
    General function

    The essential oil of Lavandula Hybrida. Essential oils are aromatic — they are in the formula for scent, and they are a common source of declared fragrance allergens.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 8 Cupressus Sempervirens Leaf/Nut/Stem Oil
    General function

    Cypress essential oil. It carries a woody, resinous scent and is one of the aromatic botanicals a product may be perfumed with.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    • fragrance
    • botanical extract
  • 9 Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil
    General function

    A cold-pressed citrus oil used for a fresh scent; naturally high in limonene.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 10 Pinene
    General function

    A pine-scented component of essential oils, declared as part of the fragrance.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
  • 11 Juniper berry oil · Juniperus Communis Fruit Oil
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
    • oil
  • 12 Linalyl Acetate
    General function

    A lavender-like fragrance component, related to linalool and listed for the same allergen reason.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 13 Tocopherol
    • antioxidant
    • vitamin
  • 14 Camphor
    General function

    Produces a cooling, medicinal sensation on the scalp and contributes scent.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • active
  • 15 Terpineol
    General function

    A lilac-like fragrance component found naturally in several essential oils.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
  • 16 Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil
    General function

    Rosemary essential oil, used for scent and its traditional scalp reputation.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.

    • botanical extract
    • essential oil
    • fragrance
  • 17 beta-caryophyllene
    General function

    An individual aroma chemical. It is part of the product's fragrance; brands that print these are disclosing more of the blend than the rules require.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
  • 18 Melaleuca Leucadendron Cajaput Oil
  • 19 terpinolene
    General function

    An individual aroma chemical. It is part of the product's fragrance; brands that print these are disclosing more of the blend than the rules require.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.

    • fragrance
  • 20 Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil
    General function

    A light, widely used oil that softens without much weight.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May suitDry, coarse, or high-porosity hair

    Coats the surface and slows water leaving the strand, which is usually what coarse hair that dries out fast is missing.

    May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair

    A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.

    International Journal of Trichology
    • oil
    • emollient
  • 21 Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil
    • emollient
    • essential oil
    • oil
  • 22 Citral
    General function

    A lemon-scented fragrance component listed separately as a recognised allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 23 Geraniol
    General function

    A rose-scented fragrance component, listed on its own because some people react to it.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 24 alpha-terpinene
    • fragrance
  • 25 Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Flower/Leaf Oil
  • 26 Geranyl Acetate
    General function

    A rose-scented fragrance component related to geraniol.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen
  • 27 Coumarin
    General function

    A sweet, hay-like fragrance component listed separately as a recognised allergen.

    Estimated lower-concentration zone

    It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.

    May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines

    One of the 26 scent components the EU requires to be named individually above a threshold. It is named because it is a known contact allergen, not because it is unusual.

    PubChem
    • fragrance
    • named fragrance allergen

What the whole list adds up to

  • 20 fragrances
  • 8 essential oils
  • 7 botanical extracts
  • 7 named fragrance allergens
  • 4 oils
  • 3 emollients
  • 1 antioxidant
  • 1 vitamin
  • 1 active

Ingredient list captured 2026-09-21. Formulas change, so check the package in your hand when an ingredient matters to you.

Price · 1.01 oz

Seen at $43.29 1 store · checked Sep 17
Good value under $5 Under $4.56/oz it costs less than three-quarters of the 8 products we score as doing the same job

Priced above the products that do the same job. Stores sell it above the $5 line; products that do this job typically go for about $9 at this size.

Show the price ladder
Where we’ve seen it2 listings · 2 stores

Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.

How we work this out
  1. 1.01 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
  2. Seen at $43.29 is the price we have observed for the 1.01 oz. We need three stores before we call a price commonly seen.
  3. Good value under $5 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $4.56/oz; at 1.01 oz that is $5. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
  4. About $9 is what those same products typically cost at this size: the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 1.01 oz.

Formula

Formula score
2 of 10

It costs more per ounce than 96% of the 280 scalp treatments we’ve priced, the formula leaves out conditioning agents up front, and 6 close matches sell for at least a quarter less per ounce.

How the score is counted
  • 6 products we score as doing the same job cost less per ounce
  • Costs more per ounce than 96% of the 280 scalp treatments we’ve priced
  • No conditioning agents up front in the formula
  • No slip for detangling either
  • Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.3 pts
  • Oils or butters in the working zoneSoftens the strand rather than just coating it.2 pts
  • Slip for detanglingReduces the force it takes to comb wet hair.2 pts
  • A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
  • A pH adjusterBrings the formula to the acidic pH hair prefers.1 pt
  • Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt

The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.

Does the same job, for less

Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.

Sunny IsleSame function 100% Raw and Pure Batana Oil $9.00/oz $33.86/oz less
  • Fragrance-free
  • Unscented
  • Protein-free
Differs
  • Unscented
  • Masstige tier
  • 2 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Taliah WaajidLowest cost per oz Hair & Scalp Oil With Vitamin E $1.25/oz $41.61/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Silicone-free
  • Alcohol-free
· Same function
Differs
  • Drugstore tier
  • 8 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare
Design EssentialsClose function Scalp Care Vitamin Drops $5.25/oz $37.61/oz less
  • Protein-free
  • Rich
  • Silicone-free
Function
  • Weight on the hair
Also
  • Cruelty-free
  • Drugstore tier
  • 4 oz bottle
Wash day
this one is not a before-shampoo product
Compare

See more alternatives in the product library

These products do a similar job. We haven’t matched them to you. Find the one that fits your hair, routine and budget

Suits every hair pattern

Final decision

Should you buy it?

Similar results available for less
Best user

Hair that stiffens on protein who want a protein-free formula and a silicone-free formula

Biggest tradeoff

Not ideal for anyone sensitive to fragrance, vegan and cruelty-free shopping, or people shopping on a budget

We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.

Claims check

What the brand says, and what the formula shows

Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.

1
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
4
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
1
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
Balances, strengthens, and purifies the scalp

The detergent system is gentle; it is unlikely to clear heavy build-up on its own.

—

Potential conflict

Too gentle for real build-up.

Maintains scalp health

Scalp comfort is not something an ingredient list settles.

  • Eucalyptus Globulus Oil
  • Lavandula Oil/Extract
  • Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil
Stated by brand

Depends on your scalp.

Stimulates microcirculation through massage

This is a marketing claim; an ingredient list cannot speak to it.

—

Stated by brand

Can’t be confirmed from label.

100% plant-based origin

A brand-run study. We report it as stated and do not repeat the number as fact.

—

Stated by brand

Only the brand’s testing shows this.

Tested under dermatological control

A brand-run study. We report it as stated and do not repeat the number as fact.

—

Stated by brand

Only the brand’s testing shows this.

Silicone-free and sulfate-free

No sulfate detergents appear in the ingredient list.

—

Supported

Gentler on colour and coils.

How to read this

We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.

Reviewers

What people report

Themes that come up again and again in sourced reviews, written by our researchers in their own words. We don’t store or scrape star ratings.

Refreshes the scalp and removes product buildup, leaving it clean and stimulated.

More from Phyto

How this page was made

  • Everything above comes from our researched product record: identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated prices and review themes our researchers wrote in their own words. No part of this page is written by hand for one product.
  • The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
  • Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
  • The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
  • 7 sources consulted for this product (2 manufacturer or regulatory, 2 retailer, 3 editorial), last checked 2026-09-21.
  • Ingredient references are linked for 6 of 18 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are general formulation guidance. They aren’t a verdict on the finished product or on you.
  • We haven’t tested this product in a lab, and we don’t physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list. Claims about how it behaves are labelled as the brand's.
  • Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are what we saw on the dates shown and can change.
  • Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
  • This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
  • Formula readings: derivation v23. Record last updated 2026-09-21.

Hair Care Consultation

A care plan made for your hair and goals, then follow-up questions and plan updates.

  • Answers to your hair concerns
  • Formula-based product picks
  • Routines for your lifestyle and preferences
  • Updates for weather, needs and goals

$49with 60 days of follow-ups

Start my consultation