“Fragrance-free” means no “fragrance” or “parfum” ingredient on the label. It does not mean no smell. Botanical ingredients like essential oils can still give a product a scent.
“Scented” describes the experience: this product has a smell. It can come from added fragrance, or from botanical ingredients like essential oils even when the label is fragrance-free.
Add it to your products. We’ll tell you if it’s ever recalled.
Scent: “Scented” describes the experience: this product has a smell. It can come from added fragrance, or from botanical ingredients like essential oils even when the label is fragrance-free.
No added fragrance on the label, but it contains scenting botanicals. Essential oils have a smell even when they are not labelled as fragrance.
Checked against this product’s ingredient list. These filters reflect common preferences, not safety ratings. Each ingredient page explains what the evidence actually says. “Fragrance” is an ingredient: a “fragrance” or “parfum” line on the label. “Scent” is what a product actually smells like. A formula with no added fragrance can still smell of its botanical ingredients, like mint or citrus essential oils.
Complete the consultation to see how well this product fits your hair and your goals. With 6,000+ products in our library, we can match you to the right ones.
About 20 minutes, and your answers save as you go.
Every product matched against your hair across the 19 factors we check.
A personalized routine built around your schedule, styling habits, and local weather.
Find products that do the same job at a lower cost.
Your goals, scalp, damage history, water, budget, and scent preferences all shape your plan.
$49 with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates
$99 with 12 months. Pay once; the year renews only if you choose.
FactorEach row measures how much of the thing it names: one dot is none or very little, five is a lot. More is not better; the Fit column says whether it suits you. Rows without a meter are a category, like a scent family or a price tier, so they show a word instead.Your profileFit
Best for hair typesCurly–CoilyNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Moisture levelModerateNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Slip / detanglingSomeNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Weight on hairRichNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
FragranceNone listedNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
ProteinNoneNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Silicone / wax buildupNoneNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Clarifying wash neededModerateNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Parabens / preservativesNone of these listedNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Essential oilsPresentNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Show all 19 factors we check
The rest of what your plan weighs on this product.
Fast-drying alcoholNoneNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Vegan / cruelty-freeNot yet verifiedNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Animal-derived ingredientsNot yet verifiedNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Heavy humectantsNot heavyNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Hard-water defenceNoneNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
UV filterNone listedNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Ingredient list14 ingredientsA short listNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Price tierPrestigeNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
Where to buy itBrand websiteOne channelNot in your profileThis row reads from your hair profile, and yours does not cover it yet.
The consultation builds your hair profile, checks every factor in this table against it, and tells you where this product fits or what to use instead.
$49 once, with 60 days of follow-up questions and plan updates. Nothing renews, and you never have to buy a product.
Your avoid-list
Upper-mid price for a scalp treatment
$16.00/oz at 3 oz, more than 70% of the 280 scalp treatments All 280 scalp treatments in our library with a known price per ounce, each at the size it is most often sold in. Not just products like this one., which mostly run $3.84–19.05/oz. The The eight products we score as closest to this one, a much tighter set than the one above. Close is not identical: scent and texture can differ. cost less.
“Fragrance-free” means no “fragrance” or “parfum” ingredient on the label. It does not mean no smell. Botanical ingredients like essential oils can still give a product a scent.no fragrance (parfum) on the label, but still scented
Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
Dry, thirsty hairhumectants and emollients both sit up front
Coarse or dry hairthat absorbs everything you give it
Silicone-free routinesno silicones appear in the list
Very dry hairno fast-drying alcohol in the list
Maybe skip if
“Scented” describes the experience: this product has a smell. It can come from added fragrance, or from botanical ingredients like essential oils even when the label is fragrance-free.this product has a scent
Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
Tight budgetsit sits in the upper price tiers
Picking it up locallywe’ve only seen it sold in one channel
Whether this much richness suits you depends on your strand thickness, porosity and how easily your hair goes flat. We work that out in the consultation.
Wash day
How it fits into wash day
Read from the product’s own directions on the date shown. A step the label leaves out is shown as not stated, never filled in.
When
Before shampoo: Scalp oiling
Start on
not stated on the label
Where
scalp
Label wait
20 minutes
Then
rinse, then shampoo
Needs
a shampoo
Conditioner after
not stated on the label
How often
1× a week
Section the hair.
Apply a few drops directly to the scalp and massage the oil in with fingers.
Let sit for 20 minutes.
Rinse well.
Follow with a double cleanse.
Not yet complete on our side: starting state. We list a product here once its label states a before-shampoo use. We only put it into a routine once every step is on record.
Scalp products are listed for browsing; we do not yet place them in a personal routine.
Each row says where it comes from: F means we derived it from this product’s own ingredient list, S means it is a claim the brand makes that the formula neither confirms nor contradicts.
Slip and detanglingSome“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
Some slip, mostly from esters or silicones rather than conditioners.
Oils and buttersPresent, high in the list“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
Oils sit high in the list: a softening, coating formula.
Weight on the hairRich“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
Heavy butters and waxes in the first eight ingredients.
Water-binding (humectants)Moderate“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
Humectants in the working part of the formula.
ProteinNone“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
No protein or amino acids in the list.
Needs detergent to removeNo“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
Nothing here needs a detergent wash to remove.
Hard-water defenceNone“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
No chelating agent in the list.
FragranceNone listed“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list.
No fragrance is listed.
“F” means this comes from the formula: we read it in the product’s own ingredient list. from the formula“S” means this is stated by the brand: it comes from the brand’s own description of the product. stated by the brand“R” means this is reported by reviewers: it reflects how people describe using it — an experience, not a measurement. reported by reviewersScale: 1 dot low · 5 dots high, within this product type.
Ingredients that matter
The ingredients that change a decision
The workhorse ingredients, plus anything lower down that changes a decision. The chips name what an ingredient does. They are not safety scores, and no ingredient here is rated good or bad on its own.
What the list leaves out, and what it carriesThe list carries no sulfates, silicones, or drying alcohols. No protein: a moisture formula, not a repair one. Heavier butters sit in the working part of the list.
Full ingredient list (14)
In the US, ingredients above 1% are listed from most to least. Below 1% they can appear in any order. Each note keeps three things apart: what the ingredient generally does, its role in this type of product, and what its position can tell you.
A concentrated aloe extract used for light moisture and a soothing claim.
Supporting ingredient
Listed in positions 4–8, it likely makes a meaningful contribution alongside the formula's main ingredients.
May suitFine or easily flattened hair
Hydration with no oil attached, so it adds very little weight even high on a list.
May suitVery dry or highly damaged hair
Aloe is mostly water carrying sugars that bind more of it, which is why it turns up as the base of moisture-first formulas.
DependsClimate-sensitive or frizz-prone hair
A humectant follows the air: it holds water in humid conditions and can give it up in very dry ones. Climate decides what it does more than the label does.
The essential oil of Cananga Odorata. Essential oils are aromatic — they are in the formula for scent, and they are a common source of declared fragrance allergens.
Estimated lower-concentration zone
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines
Essential oils are fragrance. Several carry constituents on the EU list of declared fragrance allergens, so a label with no fragrance line can still be a scented product.
The essential oil of Citrus Aurantium. Essential oils are aromatic — they are in the formula for scent, and they are a common source of declared fragrance allergens.
Estimated lower-concentration zone
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
May not suitFragrance-sensitive routines
Declared fragrance. On a fragrance-sensitive routine this is the line that decides it, wherever it sits on the label.
One of the few oils small enough to move into the strand, which is why it is used for pre-wash treatments. It can feel heavy or stiff on protein-sensitive hair.
Estimated lower-concentration zone
It appears around or below the estimated 1% line, where label order no longer indicates relative amount; its role may be minor or technical.
May suitFrizz-prone, damaged, or high-friction hair
A thin oil layer lowers friction between strands and flattens the raised cuticle that scatters light and catches on its neighbours.
Sorted by price per ounce. Dated observations from our research, not live prices. Direct store pages, no affiliate links. We don’t sell this product.
How we work this out
3 oz is the size stores list most often; every comparison on this page is made at it. Other sizes are shown in the Sizes row and the store list.
Seen at $48 is the price we have observed for the 3 oz. We need three stores before we call a price commonly seen.
Good value under $8 comes from the 8 products we score as doing the same job as this one. A quarter of them cost less than $2.50/oz; at 3 oz that is $8. Under that line you are paying less than most of them.
About $8 is what those same products typically cost at this size: the midpoint of their prices per ounce, scaled to 3 oz.
Formula
4
Formula score
4 of 10
Mid-range per ounce for a shorter formula: there is no conditioning agents up front here.
How the score is counted
8 products that do the same job cost less per ounce
Costs more per ounce than 70% of the 280 scalp treatments we’ve priced
No conditioning agents up front in the formula
No slip for detangling either
Conditioning agents up frontWhat makes wet hair comb through.3 pts
Oils or butters in the working zoneSoftens the strand rather than just coating it.2 pts
Slip for detanglingReduces the force it takes to comb wet hair.2 pts
A humectantBinds water into the hair.1 pt
A pH adjusterBrings the formula to the acidic pH hair prefers.1 pt
Fragrance kept out of the top eightScent as a finishing touch, not a major share.1 pt
The formula score measures completeness for the job: a weighted share of the systems this product type is usually built around that we find in this list. It does not rate how well the product works or its quality, and it never compares across product types.
Does the same job, for less
Formulas that do the same things (cleanse, condition, coat or hold) for less per ounce. Scent, texture and where you buy them can still differ.
We do not sell products or take placement fees. This page states what the formula and the prices show; the consultation is what matches it to a person.
Claims check
What the brand says, and what the formula shows
Claims are quoted from the brand. We mark a claim supported, partly supported or conflicting only when the ingredient list speaks to it. Everything else stays "stated by the brand". That isn’t a criticism: most claims can’t be checked from a label.
0
SupportedBacked by ingredients
0
Partly supportedSome supporting logic
1
Stated by brandNo clear evidence
0
Potential conflictFormula works against claim
A 20-minute pre-wash oil formulated with 1.28% Baobab Oil that breaks down build-up, sweat, and other impurities while intensely moisturizing.
A brand-run study. We report it as stated and do not repeat the number as fact.
—
Stated by brand
Only the brand’s testing shows this.
How to read this
We look at the first 10–15 ingredients and what they do in a formula, not at the marketing. If the list doesn't speak to a claim, we don't assume.
Reviewers
What people report
Themes that come up again and again in sourced reviews, written by our researchers in their own words. We don’t store or scrape star ratings.
Regular users say they can stretch the time between washes because the scalp feels less oily after using the product.
regular users
A few reviewers dealing with thinning hair or scalp conditions like psoriasis describe noticeable comfort improvement and some report new growth.
reviewers with thinning hair or scalp conditions
Several reviewers with dry or flaky scalps report visible relief within just one or two applications.
reviewers with dry scalp
Despite being an oil, several reviewers say it absorbs without leaving hair greasy.
Everything above comes from our researched product record: identity, the ingredient list as printed, the brand's own claims, dated prices and review themes our researchers wrote in their own words. No part of this page is written by hand for one product.
The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
Both scores out of ten are defined on this page. The formula score is completeness for the job, computed from a fixed per-format checklist shown beneath the gauge; the price score is cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced.
The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
4 sources consulted for this product (3 manufacturer or regulatory, 0 retailer, 1 editorial), last checked 2026-09-16.
Ingredient references are linked for 2 of 9 product-aware annotations on this page. Fit notes are general formulation guidance. They aren’t a verdict on the finished product or on you.
We haven’t tested this product in a lab, and we don’t physically test your hair. Formula readings come from the ingredient list. Claims about how it behaves are labelled as the brand's.
Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are what we saw on the dates shown and can change.
Ingredient names link to our ingredient library, where each entry shows what it does, which product types use it, and where it usually sits on a label across everything we have researched.
This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
Formula readings: derivation v23. Record last updated 2026-09-17.