Side by side
Curlsmith Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz vs OCOA Hydrating Curl Cream
85% function match · 10 of the 13 functions we compared match Formula overlap 51%. Curlsmith Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz and OCOA Hydrating Curl Cream share 4 ingredients among each other's most prominent.
Which of these fits your hair?
We check your pattern, moisture need, scalp, fragrance tolerance, weight sensitivity and more against each formula — and say which one lines up.
Your profile at a glance
- Your answers appear here
- Your answers appear here
- Your answers appear here
- Your answers appear here
When each one is the right call
What each formula is built for, from its own ingredient list.
- Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz — protein-sensitive hair
- Hydrating Curl Cream — dry, thirsty hair
Side by side
Every trait, aligned
One row per trait, read from each product’s own ingredient list and record. A dash means we have not researched that field for that product — it is not a “no”.
- Protein-sensitive hairthat stiffens when protein is added
- Dry, thirsty hairhumectants and emollients both sit up front
- Curly-method routinesno sulfates and no water-insoluble silicones
- Curl definitionfilm formers hold a clump together
- Dry, thirsty hairhumectants and emollients both sit up front
- Curly-method routinesno sulfates and no water-insoluble silicones
- Curl definitionfilm formers hold a clump together
- Coarse or dry hairthat absorbs everything you give it
- Scents bother youthis product carries a scent
- Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
- Styles that must holdno hold polymer, gum, or wax was found
- Scents bother youthis product carries a scent
- Oily scalp or fine hairthat gets weighed down
- Styles that must holdno hold polymer, gum, or wax was found
More facts about each one
- sulfate-free
- silicone-free
- protein-free
- curly-method compatible
- sulfate-free
- silicone-free
- curly-method compatible
Facts as we recorded them. A dash means we have not researched that field for that product — it is not a "no".
The bottom line
The bottom line depends on your hair
Which of these two suits you is a question about your hair, not about them. The consultation answers it — and tells you what your routine needs around it.
$49.00 once, for your consultation and hair profile. No subscription, no required purchases.
The detail behind the table
Where the readings above come from: the ingredient lists themselves, each brand’s claims checked against them, what owners report, and cost per ounce in context.
Shared and distinct ingredients
Shared and distinct ingredients
Computed from the ingredient lists as printed. "Shared" means both lists carry it; where it sits on each label is stated, because position is what tells you how much.
What both formulas carry
What only one of them carries
Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz
Full ingredient list — Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz (32)
-
1
Water
- solvent
-
2
Cetearyl Alcohol
- fatty alcohol
- emollient
- thickener
-
3
Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
4
Glycerin
- humectant
-
5
Hydroxypropyl Starch Phosphate
- starch
- thickener
- film former
-
6
PPG-3 Benzyl Ether Myristate
- light ester
- emollient
-
7
Panthenol
- humectant
- conditioning agent
- vitamin
-
8
Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
9
Carapa Guaianensis Seed Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
10
Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice
- humectant
- botanical extract
- gum
-
11
Ocimum Basilicum (Basil) Leaf Extract
- botanical extract
-
12
Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil
- oil
- emollient
- Below about this point, order stops being meaningful — these are typically used at 1% or less.
-
13
Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract
- botanical extract
- antioxidant
-
14
Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract
- botanical extract
-
15
Piper Nigrum (Black Pepper) Seed Extract
- botanical extract
-
16
Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
17
Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
18
Selaginella Lepidophylla Extract
- botanical extract
- humectant
-
19
Cetrimonium Chloride
- conditioning agent
- cleanser
-
20
Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate
- antioxidant
-
21
Tocopherol
- antioxidant
- vitamin
-
22
Ceteareth-20
- emulsifier
-
23
Ethylhexylglycerin
- preservative
- emollient
-
24
Sodium Benzoate
- preservative
-
25
Potassium Sorbate
- preservative
-
26
Phenoxyethanol
- preservative
-
27
Fragrance
- fragrance
- declared fragrance
-
28
Citrus Limon (Lemon) Peel Oil
- botanical extract
- essential oil
- fragrance
-
29
Limonene
- fragrance
- named fragrance allergen
-
30
Linalool
- fragrance
- named fragrance allergen
-
31
Pinene
- fragrance
-
32
Tetramethyl Acetyloctahydronaphthalenes
- fragrance
Full ingredient list — Hydrating Curl Cream (27)
-
1
Water
- solvent
-
2
Cetearyl Alcohol
- fatty alcohol
- emollient
- thickener
-
3
Cetyl Alcohol
- fatty alcohol
- emollient
- thickener
-
4
Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
5
Glycerin
- humectant
-
6
Propanediol
- humectant
- solvent
-
7
Sclerocarya Birrea (Marula) Seed Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
8
Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter
- butter
- emollient
- Below about this point, order stops being meaningful — these are typically used at 1% or less.
-
9
Fragrance
- fragrance
- declared fragrance
-
10
Chenopodium Quinoa Seed Oil
- oil
- emollient
-
11
Chenopodium Quinoa Seed Extract
- botanical extract
-
12
Hibiscus Rosa-Sinensis Flower Extract
- botanical extract
-
13
Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract
- botanical extract
- antioxidant
-
14
Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract
- botanical extract
-
15
Oryza Sativa (Rice) Extract
- botanical extract
-
16
Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
- film former
- protein
- hydrolysed protein
-
17
Glycine Max (Soybean) Seed Extract
- botanical extract
-
18
Panax Ginseng Root Extract
- botanical extract
-
19
Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
- film former
- protein
- hydrolysed protein
-
20
Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract
- botanical extract
-
21
Butylene Glycol
- humectant
- solvent
-
22
Cetrimonium Chloride
- conditioning agent
- cleanser
-
23
Gluconolactone
- humectant
- exfoliant
- hard-water chelator
-
24
Tetrasodium Glutamate Diacetate
- hard-water chelator
-
25
Calcium Gluconate
- hard-water chelator
- salt
-
26
Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride
- conditioning agent
- polymer
- gum
-
27
Sodium Benzoate
- preservative
Claims check
What each brand says, against what each formula shows
Claims are quoted from each brand. We only mark one supported, partly supported, or conflicting when that product’s ingredient list actually speaks to it.
Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz
No crunch formula
SupportedNatural movement without stiffness.Soft hold
SupportedNatural movement without stiffness.Detangles and enhances curls
Partly supportedA little slip, not a lot.Free from sulfates, silicones, drying alcohols
SupportedGentler on colour and coils.Cruelty-free and vegan
SupportedMatches our researched record.
Hydrating Curl Cream
Defines and moisturizes curls
SupportedHelps hair feel hydrated.Controls frizz
SupportedSmoother strands, less frizz.Heat protection up to 350°F
Stated by brandOnly lab testing can show this.
What owners say
What people report
Recurring themes our researchers wrote in their own words from sourced reviews. We do not store or scrape star ratings, and we never balance one product’s themes against another’s by inventing them.
Curlsmith Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz draws complaints about weight and hold.
Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz
Pleasant scent and doesn't weigh curls down or leave them sticky
Curlsmith.com verified buyer, Julie P.Provides a nice soft hold and defines curls well
Curlsmith.com verified buyer, Lauren N.Gives soft hold while keeping curls moisturized and touchable rather than crunchy
Curlsmith.com verified buyer, Penelope B.A few reviewers felt hold was insufficient for stronger curl definition used alone
Ulta reviewer aggregateSome users with fine or wavy hair found it heavy or sticky, and a subset reported dryness
Ulta reviewer aggregateHydrating Curl Cream
Loves the whole line: product experience, packaging, and results
reviewer with wavy hair (2B-2C/3A)Perfect in-between light-to-buttery cream that doesn't weigh hair down
reviewer with wavy hairHas used the cream and gel combo for over a year and loves both
reviewer, hair type not specifiedBought extra for family members; keeps hair soft and curls defined the next day
reviewer with very curly hairHair felt very dry and sticky regardless of how much product was used
1-star reviewer, hair type not specifiedPrice check
Cost per ounce, in context
Cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in. Value labels are computed from that percentile and from how many products that do the same job cost less; they are comparisons, not judgements about a brand.
$2.50/oz vs $7.03/oz — Curlsmith Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz costs about 2.8× more per ounce than OCOA Hydrating Curl Cream.
Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz
Against 56 smoothing creams with a computable unit price.
Hydrating Curl Cream
Against 105 curl creams with a computable unit price.
Computed from cost per ounce against every product of this type we have priced, and from how many products that do the same job cost less. It is a comparison, not a judgement about the brand.
Compare with something else
Close formulas to each of these, as their own comparison pages.
Hold Me Softly Style Balm - 8.0 oz · Hydrating Curl Cream · All smoothing creams in the library
How this page was made
- This page is assembled from the same researched records the individual product pages render: identity, each ingredient list as printed, each brand's own claims, dated price observations, and review themes written in our researchers' own words. Nothing on it is written per comparison.
- We do not rank these against each other. Which of them suits you depends on your hair, and that is what the consultation works out.
- The formula similarity percentage is a stored, precomputed number: position-weighted overlap of the two ingredient lists blended with agreement on the attributes we derive. It measures how alike two formulas are, not how well either works.
- The value band is a fixed label over two stored numbers: this product’s cost per ounce as a percentile of every product of this type we have priced, each at the size it is most often sold in, and how many products we score as doing the same job cost at least a quarter less per ounce.
- The "Is this right for you?" panel reads only your own consultation answers, and it applies exactly the filters our recommendation engine applies. It is computed when you load the page and is never stored on it.
- 3 sources were consulted across the products on this page.
- Ingredient order tells you relative amount only above roughly 1%. Prices are observations on the dates shown and change without notice. We do not sell these products and take no placement fees.
- This is cosmetic information, not medical advice, and nothing here diagnoses or treats a health condition.
Still unsure? Take your consultation or browse more products.
Your personalized hair plan
Tell us what’s going on with your hair, see what we understand, and get a plan built around it — with the reason behind every recommendation.
Free to start · $49.00 for your consultation and hair profile · No subscription · Nothing you must buy
Start your consultation
